This Works For Me

The Email Auto-Responder That Saved My Sanity

I was burned out from email overload, until I tried something that totally changed the way I work

Maria Del Russo
Forge
Published in
4 min readMar 4, 2020

--

A photo of a stressed woman with her hands on the sides of her face, looking at her computer screen.
Photo: Jose Luis Pelaez Inc/Getty Images

WWhen I was unexpectedly thrust into the world of freelancing following a layoff last year, I quickly settled into a routine for my brand-new work life. And by “routine” I mean “total chaos.” My workspace was my bed. The sweatpants I’d slept in the night before were my work attire. The Real Housewives, playing on an endless stream in the background, were my co-workers. My personal Gmail became my professional inbox.

Sure, it was basically a paint-by-numbers of everything you’re not supposed to do while working from home. But, as I rationalized to myself, my situation was only temporary — until it wasn’t. As the months went by, I started to realize that freelancing had become my career. And, like any career, it came with contacts, contracts, and lots and lots (and lots and lots) of emails.

Oh, man, the emails. Once I accepted that I was making a living as a freelancer, I cleaned up my act: I began renting a seat at a co-working space, weaned myself off Bravo, and started wearing real pants. But the one thing I couldn’t seem to get under control was my inbox. A lot of the editorial writing I do is in the…

--

--