An illustration of a woman looking perfectly content, while being buried in a ton of letters.
Illustration: Andrea Chronopoulos

You vs. Your Inbox

It’s Fine to Have 77,000 Unread Emails

You can be a productive person without ever aiming for inbox zero

Rachel Kramer Bussel
Forge
Published in
6 min readFeb 19, 2020

--

II first realized my inbox was becoming a problem when I missed an acceptance from an editor I’d never worked with before. It was pretty embarrassing to send a groveling apology six weeks after the fact, explaining that her message had gotten lost amid thousands of other unread emails.

Not for the first time, I considered declaring email bankruptcy: mass-deleting all the newsletters, marketing promos, Google news alerts, and notes from friends, family, and work contacts that accumulated over the years. I’d give myself a blank slate, one that allowed me to actually notice the professional opportunities that came my way.

Yet I couldn’t bring myself to nuke my inbox entirely. What if I wanted to reread a note my late grandmother had written to me? Or look up which Black Friday promos a company offered in 2016 to better inform my shopping this year?

In search of a better strategy, I started asking around and found that I was far from alone in my email hoarding. Some felt daunted by their huge numbers of unread messages and told me about missing important emails, such as party invitations, because of sheer volume. Some had tried to get things…

--

--

Rachel Kramer Bussel
Forge
Writer for

Writer on books, culture, and sex. Editor of Best Women’s Erotica of the Year series. Written for New York Times, Salon, CNN and more. rachelkramerbussel.com