Joint Accounts

When Your Partner Takes Money From an Ex

Managing money as a couple is complicated

Kristin Wong
Forge
Published in
5 min readApr 29, 2019

--

Illustration: Laurie Rollitt

Welcome to Joint Accounts, a weekly advice column about money and relationships of all kinds. Have a question? Email jointaccounts@medium.com.

Dear Joint Accounts,

My girlfriend and I have been together for about six months, and I’ve come to accept that one of her exes, an older man, is going to be a part of her life. He’s helped her with money in the past, like paying her rent when she was in a tight spot. They’re just friends, and I trust her.

But recently, the ex received a windfall and gave her $2,500 to help get her online business up and running. I have the means to help her, too, but I told her I’d want to see a little more substance to her business before I felt comfortable putting money into it. She didn’t want to tell me her ex was helping her out, and while I’m glad she ultimately did, I’m also a little mad at the entire situation. I guess I didn’t realize that by accepting him as part of her life, I’d also be accepting scenarios like this, where I feel undermined in my relationship. What should I do?

Sincerely,

In Love But Leery

--

--

Kristin Wong
Forge
Writer for

Kristin Wong has written for the New York Times, The Cut, Catapult, The Atlantic and ELLE.