Joint Accounts

How Do I Tell My Friend I Can’t Afford to Be in Her Wedding Party?

This doesn’t have to be a big deal if you approach the conversation the right way

Kristin Wong
Forge
Published in
4 min readJul 22, 2019

--

An illustration of a woman showing her engagement ring to her friend. Her friend is nervous about being a bridesmaid.
lllustration: Laurie Rollitt

Dear Joint Accounts,

A friend recently asked me to be a bridesmaid in her wedding. I’m honored, but I’m also not in the best position financially. I’m currently paying off a big student loan and my income is modest. If I say yes, I’m pretty sure I’ll be on the hook for all of the additional expenses, from the cost of the dress to paying for an upgraded hotel suite to co-hosting the bachelorette party.

As it stands, I can barely afford to attend the wedding, since travel is involved. How do I tell my friend I can’t afford to be in her wedding party? I don’t think she’ll be mad, but I do think it will hurt her feelings.

Sincerely,

Too Broke to Be a Bridesmaid

WWeddings are expensive, and not just for the bride and groom. One recent poll from the financial site CompareCards found that a third of people who had been in a wedding party went into debt to cover the associated expenses.

And most people, including the people getting married, understand that. “This is one of the major reasons why I’ve opted…

--

--

Kristin Wong
Forge
Writer for

Kristin Wong has written for the New York Times, The Cut, Catapult, The Atlantic and ELLE.