Joint Accounts

Do I Have to Tell My Co-workers How Much I Make?

I know it could be helpful, but sharing something so personal makes me really uncomfortable

Kristin Wong
Forge
Published in
3 min readSep 23, 2019

--

An illustration of a woman holding numbers in her arms, as her coworkers surround and stare her down.
Illustration: Laurie Rollitt

Dear Joint Accounts,

There’s been a big push among my co-workers lately for more financial transparency. And I get it: The goal is making sure we’re all paid fairly. But I’m uncomfortable with the whole office knowing my money situation, especially because I’m pretty sure I make more than most people I work with.

Is it wrong if I don’t want to share my salary when asked? And Is there a way I can help them out without doing so?

Sincerely,

Financially Guarded

MMoney is a tension point for a lot of people, and discussing your finances openly can still feel taboo. But the only way to end a taboo is to talk about it. Your co-workers are right that financial transparency is important. When no one in an office knows how much anyone else is making, racial and gender-based pay inequities flourish. Creating a culture of openness around pay makes it easier for people to recognize when they’re not being compensated fairly.

You say you probably earn more than most of the people you work with. I don’t know what makes you…

--

--

Kristin Wong
Forge
Writer for

Kristin Wong has written for the New York Times, The Cut, Catapult, The Atlantic and ELLE.