You Don’t Need to Feel Guilty For Not Being Busy

A culture of being busy may be wounding our souls

Kaki Okumura
Forge

--

Illustrations by Kaki Okumura

“I am so busy.”

I am not exactly sure when I found myself in a position where this statement felt like a 2-in-1 boast and complaint.

Perhaps I first started feeling this in high school, when having a social life, good grades, and sleep all seemed to be working in a trade-off system, and people competed to have the least hours of sleep. Or maybe it was before then, watching movies and television shows as a child, and montage scenes of a hardworking, tired employee pore of their work well into midnight. Nevertheless, I’ve come to understand that I was shaped by a society that valued being busy.

But is busyness as a value all that great?

In Japanese, the characters for “busy” are made up of the characters for ‘soul’ and ‘loss’. Being busy is quite literally described as a loss of our soul.

心:soul

亡:loss

忙:busy

Growing into an adult, I was able to more closely witness the repercussions of a lack of time on people’s…

--

--

Kaki Okumura
Forge

Born in Dallas, raised in New York and Tokyo. I care about helping others learn to live a better, healthier life. My site: www.kakikata.space 🌱