Write Down Every Compliment You Get

In praise of the Good Shit board, the tool I use to track accomplishments large and small

Lauren Sieben
Forge

--

Credit: Sitthiphong Thadakun / EyeEm/Getty Images

WWhenever I need to give my eyes a break from the blue light of my laptop, I look over to a wall full of whiteboards in my office: One for client deadlines, one for keeping track of creative projects, and one containing a running list of all my professional accomplishments for the month — the one I think of as my Good Shit board.

Some of the items on my Good Shit board for this month include an inspiring week at a writer’s workshop, a fun new assignment from a magazine I enjoy writing for, and an article pitch accepted at Forge (hi!), along with any kind words about my work, or complimentary emails from editors that I’ve received.

The Good Shit board is a lifeline on days when work feels frustrating. It’s where I go to celebrate my wins, providing a confidence boost anytime my morale takes a hit after a rejection or roadblock. At the end of each month, I type up all the contents of the Good Shit board into a Word document, save it, then erase the board and start anew.

When I became a freelancer two years ago, I got serious about tracking my Good Shit. There’s something cringeworthy about broadcasting “accomplishments” on my wall, even just to myself, so the…

--

--

Lauren Sieben
Forge
Writer for

Writer in Milwaukee. Work appears in the Washington Post, The Guardian, Belt Magazine, Milwaukee Magazine, Midwest Living and others. laurensieben.com