Write a List of Your Values and Everything Else Will Follow

Here are the eight core values I live by

Darius Foroux
Forge
Published in
3 min readOct 11, 2019

--

A portrait of a happy young woman enjoying the sunlight with the sky as a backdrop.
Photo: Westend61/Getty

What kind of person are you?

Most of us would probably answer the question by listing traits. You might describe yourself, for example, as friendly, creative, confident, independent, meticulous, or calm.

That’s an understandable response. We tend to believe that our personalities or other external characteristics are what define us. And, sure, these traits can stem from who you are. But what truly shapes us, what forms the foundation of our character, are our values.

Values are our fundamental beliefs, informing our thoughts, words, and actions. If we don’t set our own core values, we end up losing ourselves in other people’s values. That’s how we become dependent on our friends, family members, or partners to define us. Our identities are no longer our own.

That’s why I recently wrote a list of my own core values, something I can return to whenever I’m feeling lost. Here are my values and how I define them.

Authenticity

Be the same person regardless of who you’re with — parents, friends, co-workers, in-laws, strangers. Stay true to yourself at all times. And never be afraid of other people’s judgments.

--

--

Darius Foroux
Forge
Writer for

Get a free excerpt of my new book, The Stoic Path to Wealth (Porfolio / Penguin), here: members.dariusforoux.com/stoic-path-excerpt