Why Now Is the Perfect Time to Master a New Skill

Here’s how to jump-start the ‘growth mindset’ you need to succeed

Allison Hirschlag
Forge

--

Woman installing light bulb on ceiling while renovating home.
Photo: Klaus Vedfelt/Getty Images

Back in late May, during the height of lockdown in the Northeast, I fell into a major creative slump. I attributed the block to burnout, but after several weeks I began to feel like I’d never be able to pull myself out of the emotional quicksand and be able to focus on work again.

But then a light went on.

Literally.

The light came from an actual bulb. The key was that the bulb was attached to a light fixture I installed myself. Thanks to three YouTube tutorials, rubber gloves, and a husband/spotter, I managed to figure out the wiring and mount the brass fixture that had been sitting in a box since the winter.

I felt more accomplished than I had in ages. I’d crossed off a task that was stagnating on my to-do list, but more importantly, I was suddenly brimming with exuberance and fresh ideas, as if I’d received a creativity infusion. Later, I’d come to discover that that’s not far off from what actually happened on the neuroscientific level.

Jump-starting the growth mindset

Learning a new skill is like sending an army of smelling salts into your brain. Suddenly your synapses wake…

--

--

Allison Hirschlag
Forge
Writer for

Writer of varying attitudes. Words at WaPo, Scientific American, Cosmo, Audubon, Weather, McSweeneys, Weekly Humorist and elsewhere. Likes laughing. And cheese.