What I Learned About Teamwork From This Classic Parenting Book

‘How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk’ might be the management guide we all need

Herbert Lui
Forge
Published in
4 min readSep 4, 2020

--

Photo: Thomas Barwick/Getty Images

While we don’t have to help our colleagues tie shoes or remind them to FaceTime Grandma (that’d be weird), parenting skills can translate surprisingly well in the workplace.

I don’t have kids myself, but I was curious when Julie Zhuo, a former vice president of design at Facebook and a mom of three, tweeted that she learns as much or more about improving teamwork from parenting books as she does from books about management. “I find kids present a more extreme version of the same kinds of interpersonal challenges that a colleague/friend/report would,” she writes.

On a recommendation from a parent, I picked up a copy of How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk by Adele Faber and Elaine Mazlish, a classic manual of communication strategies — and found plenty of strategies I could use in my role as an entrepreneur. It turns out that whether we’re speaking to a team member or a child, the goal is often the same: We want to bring out the best in the other person.

Here are three tactics from the book, which you might find as useful as I did for communicating in the professional world.

--

--

Herbert Lui
Forge
Writer for

Covering the psychology of creative work for content creators, professionals, hobbyists, and independents. Author of Creative Doing: https://www.holloway.com/cd