What Can You Learn From FBI Negotiation Techniques?

A powerful book to improve your negotiation skills, ‘Never Split the Difference,’ by Chris Voss

David Pereira
Forge

--

Photo by Dušan veverkolog on Unsplash

For months Audible has been persuading me with the book Never Split the Difference, but somehow, I didn’t buy it. However, last Christmas, my brother surprised me with this book as a present; he knows how keen I am on reading books that help me develop myself. After reading it, I only wish I had done it before. The content is engaging and revealing.

“Negotiation is not an act of battle; it’s a process of discovery. The goal is to uncover as much information as possible.”
Chris Voss

Chris Voss was a top FBI hostage negotiator, and he came up with a negotiation framework applicable in many spheres. His techniques are useful everywhere you need to negotiate, e.g., asking for a salary increase, acquiring real estate, buying a car, or whatever you imagine else you imagine negotiating.

During this post, I want to share with you what I learned from the book, as well as what I have already tried out. I hope you can benefit from it.

1. Getting the Other Side’s Attention

The first challenge of any negotiation is getting your counterpart’s attention. People…

--

--

David Pereira
Forge

I don't write on Medium anymore. Find my content at Untrapping Product Teams https://dpereira.substack.com/