This Year, Resolve to Do Less

New year, same you, same world filled with problems. Take it easy, why don’t you?

Devon Price
Forge

--

Photo: Sasha Freemind/Unsplash

When the pandemic began, many people took to the internet to share all the things they hoped they’d accomplish in isolation.

“I’m going to write a memoir!” one friend of mine announced.

“I’ll finally have time to work out every day!” another declared.

“Look at all this bread I baked!” said several others.

Across the internet, some people even turned their goal-setting into a cudgel with which to beat others: “I read four books this week and practiced my Spanish every day,” they tweeted. “What’s your excuse?”

When in a state of shock, it’s pretty common to retreat into work. Lonesome and powerless, many of us frantically grasped for a sense of purpose and agency. And in our moralistic culture where suffering is equated with virtue, it’s no wonder a lot of folks wanted to cast a horrifying situation as somehow “worth it.”

In those early days, I fell into a work wormhole, too — developing workshops for newly online teachers, churning out essays about how quarantine might affect each of us psychologically, organizing political calls to action. I wanted to work my way out of despair.

--

--

Devon Price
Forge

He/Him or It/Its. Social Psychologist & Author of LAZINESS DOES NOT EXIST and UNMASKING AUTISM. Links to buy: https://linktr.ee/drdevonprice