The Rules of the Favor Economy

Asking for help can deepen a relationship if you do it right

Susie Armitage
Forge

--

Photo: Hero Images/Getty

TThe first time I had to install an air conditioner in my apartment, I spent the early weeks of summer stewing in sweaty anxiety. I hated the stress of hoisting an unwieldy hunk of metal into my third-floor window, directly above a well-trafficked sidewalk. But I also hated the idea of asking any of my friends for help. Surely they all had better things to do on an evening or weekend than schlep to my place to perform manual labor.

And what if they said no? I already felt needy for being unable to handle the job myself. I didn’t want to deal with the awkwardness of being rejected on top of it.

Unless you’re absolutely brimming with confidence, you can probably relate. “The idea of asking for even a small amount of help makes most of us horribly uncomfortable,” writes social psychologist Heidi Grant in Reinforcements: How to Get People to Help You. “Scientists have found that it can cause social pain that is every bit as real as physical pain.”

But this is a clear case of our dumb psyches leading us astray. “We think people will be offended, annoyed, and ultimately reject our requests,” says Vanessa Bohns, a professor of organizational behavior at Cornell University. “But people are more likely to say yes than we…

--

--

Susie Armitage
Forge
Writer for

freelance journalist with bylines at BuzzFeed News, Business Insider, Atlas Obscura, Curbed, Vox, Slate, NPR & others | susie.space