The Advice That Changed How I Approach Every Job Interview

It helped me ditch the canned responses for good

Remy Franklin
Forge

--

Photo: shapecharge/Getty Images

TThere’s nothing quite like being broke to put the pressure on you to nail an interview. I had just moved to California and had less than $500 in the bank — about half a month’s rent. My fledgling life-coaching business was beginning to take off, but income from my two clients definitely wasn’t enough to cover my bills. So I found myself looking for part-time jobs in a new city with few connections.

Eventually, I came across an opportunity to teach a first-year seminar at a university campus. I had never taught college students before, but I had my master’s degree and met the qualifications on paper. The position was everything I was looking for: It started immediately, was part-time, and paid well. As a bonus, it would be fun and interesting work.

An hour before I was set to interview with the dean, I got a call from my mentor coach, Jeremy. As I was talking about the opportunity, he could hear that I was nervous. I really wanted this job.

Jeremy then asked me a question that completely shifted my mindset: “What is the contribution you want to make in this position?”

I paused and let out a deep breath. I told him that I know how formative the first year of college…

--

--

Remy Franklin
Forge
Writer for

Life coach, career design professor, professional rock climber. www.RemyFranklin.com