8 Uncommon Journaling Techniques to Help You Get Your Words on the Page

You’ve know that journaling has great benefits. But how do you even start?

Catherine Andrews
Forge

--

Photo: Erdark/Getty Images

It might surprise you that as someone who teaches journaling and recommends it so frequently, the practice used to feel hard, confusing, painful, and weird to me. I was extremely resistant to it. I couldn’t see the use of journaling; my mind was already loud and chaotic and full of thoughts racing over one another and I didn’t get the point of writing them down on paper.

I think one reason I was resistant was that I just didn’t know how to start. It seemed overwhelming. I was just supposed to pick up a pen, stare down a blank page of paper and… begin? Huh? How was I supposed to know what to say? Part of this had to do with my perfectionism and another part had to do with not having instructions, templates, and prompts that would have helped me out.

So I thought I would share some of my favorite manners of journaling to help you get started. (I also have dozens of sets of journal prompts on my Instagram page.) What I offer below aren’t standard journaling practices or approaches, like gratitude journaling or Bullet Journaling (though those can be useful, too!). These are journaling approaches for personal transformation that I think are pretty unique…

--

--

Catherine Andrews
Forge
Writer for

Teaching awakening + healing through vulnerability + self-compassion. Finding hope in a messy world. Author of the Sunday Soother. http://catherinedandrews.com