Strategies to Pull Yourself Out of a Bad Mood

How to take control of your emotions when things aren’t going your way

Cindy Lamothe
Forge

--

Image: cifotart/Getty

The incident that ruined my day happened early in the morning: I was in my car and inadvertently cut off another driver, who then zoomed up next to me and yelled, “Idiot!” outside my window before hastily driving off. Frustrated, I yelled something nasty back, even though I knew he couldn’t hear me — which frustrated me, too.

Even minor annoyances like these can create a domino effect. The first annoyance magnifies each one that follows, all of them building on each other until you’ve worked yourself into a full-on bad mood.

“When you’re in a bad mood or having a bad day, it’s easy to chalk it up to bad luck,” says Kate Hanley, a personal development coach and author of How to Be a Better Person, “which makes it feel as if you’re helpless to do anything about it.”

But there are ways you can successfully lessen your negative reactions before they escalate. When you feel the day spiraling away from you, simply noticing that you’re in a funk is an important first step toward getting out of it. Here are a few ways to pull yourself out of a bad mood before it gets too big to control.

Pinpoint what’s gone wrong

--

--

Cindy Lamothe
Forge
Writer for

Writer of Many Hats. Words in: The New York Times, Vogue, The Atlantic, The Cut & more www.cindylamothe.com. Find me on Twitter @CRLamothe