You Don’t Control What Happens, You Control How You Respond

The most important practice in Stoic philosophy can guide us through the age of coronavirus

Ryan Holiday
Forge

--

A photo of a woman sitting cross-legged, meditating, on the floor. A laptop with an open book and glasses is in front of her.
Photo: Katrin Ray Shumakov/Getty Images

TThe single most important practice in Stoic philosophy is differentiating between what we can change and what we can’t. What we have influence over and what we do not. In stressful times, I like to reread this passage from the Stoic philosopher Epictetus on just how to do that:

The chief task in life is simply this: to identify and separate matters so that I can say clearly to myself which are externals not under my control, and which have to do with the choices I actually control. Where then do I look for good and evil? Not to uncontrollable externals, but within myself to the choices that are my own…

What better opportunity to practice this “chief task in life” than during the global pandemic we’re currently facing? Covid-19 is here. No amount of yelling at the TV will make it go away. Cursing the origin of the virus, being racist, perpetuating conspiracy theories, and hoarding toilet paper will not save you. Neither will sticking your head in the sand and pretending it’s “not that bad.” All these things do is waste the time and energy you could be using to sustain yourself and others.

--

--

Ryan Holiday
Forge

Bestselling author of ‘Conspiracy,’ ‘Ego is the Enemy’ & ‘The Obstacle Is The Way’ http://amzn.to/24qKRWR