Network Like a Rich White Man

Make professional connections just like all the Jareds and Matts in your office

Mary Retta
Forge

--

A black man and a white man in front of their laptops sipping coffee directly across from each other at a cafe table.
Photo: SeventyFour/iStock/Getty Images Plus

AsAs the child of immigrants, I was raised to be quiet—to keep my head down, work hard, and always be modest about my accomplishments. These are lessons that stuck with me even as I grew up and entered the workforce: I hated networking. I was deeply uncomfortable promoting myself. I squirmed at the idea of pitching myself, highlighting my accomplishments, or doing any of the other things I was supposed to do in order to “get ahead.”

This is why I hate to be the one to say this, but it needs to be said: Even if you’re more of an apologetic emailer than a let’s do lunch-er, you’re going to need to learn to network at some point in your professional career. Trying to advance in any field is daunting enough, and it becomes even trickier if you don’t have the right connections.

That said, networking can be more difficult for some people than for others. “Others,” in this case, being anyone who’s not a wealthy, cisgender, heterosexual white guy.

Exude confidence

Research illustrates how many marginalized groups including women, people of color, and people from lower socioeconomic statuses can have trouble networking in the traditional sense. One recent study

--

--

Mary Retta
Forge
Writer for

Mary writes about culture, wellness, politics, and identity. Her work is in Medium, Glamour, Teen Vogue, Vice, Allure, Bitch Media, Nylon, and more.