Meal Prepping My Way Out of Minimum Credit Card Payments

My debt has gone down and I’m surprisingly better at cooking than I thought

Rachael Berkey
Forge

--

Photo by Natalia Y on Unsplash

Like nearly every decision that has put me onto the path of adulthood, my journey toward a debt-free, responsible life began by making a number of really bad choices. I can’t even claim predatory companies or conniving scam artists; I was repeatedly warned of the dangers and pitfalls of credit cards, which are compounded by my blatant disregard for budgeting. That’s how I ended up here: 35 years old, in debt, and really tired of crying poor as my friends with better heads on their shoulders wanted to go out for an evening of fun anywhere that wasn’t my local bar, where the drinks were cheap.

In the spring of 2017, I was making more than I had ever made before. Sure, I was a subcontractor, so I was paying for all my benefits out of pocket and had no job security, but every two weeks, that deposit hit my checking account, and I felt just fine buying my morning Starbucks and spending $15 on a salad I probably could have made at home for far less. I wasn’t breaking any records in the income department, but I was flirting with an economic bracket that would make things like the occasional trip out of town a reality instead of a someday kind of idea — and I liked it. That was when reality set in. I would…

--

--