Are You Sure You Want To Adopt That Pet?

Pandemic puppies are an extremely cute trend, but adopting an animal in quarantine could be a dicey proposition

Julia Pugachevsky
Forge

--

A cute orange cat naps while its paw lays on its owner’s hand.
Photo: Ann Schwede/Getty Images

It seems like every time I scroll through my social media feeds, I see another friend who’s fostering or adopting a pet. They’re romping with rescue pups on grassy lawns. They’re cuddling with kittens as they binge Tiger King.

I’m a little jealous, but I’m also a little skeptical. I grew up with a beloved family dog that I often miss. But because I know how much work they are, I’ve held off on getting my own pet, even as adoptions and foster care applications have surged with the country in lockdown.

This odd new phenomenon of animal shelters running out of dogs is, broadly, a good thing — especially when the pandemic has forced many shelters to reduce their hours of operation or close entirely. At the same time, while bringing a pet home right now can make people less lonely, it can also be uniquely challenging, from having to take your rambunctious puppy on socially distant walks to being hit with a steep vet bill right as you get laid off. Here’s what to consider before you hop on that animal shelter waitlist.

Looking for love

--

--

Julia Pugachevsky
Forge
Writer for

freelance writer with work in VICE, BuzzFeed News, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Insider, and more.