WHO WE’LL BE AFTER THIS

I’m Hearing Impaired, and My Mask Taught Me to Ask for What I Need

Navigating life with deafness can feel impossible during the pandemic, but I’ve found a solution that can work for everyone

jennifer pastiloff
Forge
Published in
4 min readAug 11, 2020

--

Photo: Kemal Yildirim/Getty Images

We all have something that we’re self-conscious about, and often, that no one else even notices. When that something is an invisible disability, the stakes are even higher. It’s crucial that we figure out a way to be honest about our needs.

Invisible disabilities like mine are challenging because most people have no idea we’re dealing with something until we communicate it to them. I’ve had long conversations about this with my friend Xian Horn, a disability activist who has cerebral palsy. She uses ski poles to walk around, so it’s obvious she has something going on, but usually, people aren’t exactly sure what. When I walk into a room, I’m more like someone who has an anxiety disorder, or certain types of autism, or a brain injury, or a genetic disorder. It’s not obvious that I’m going to need some extra support or different treatment.

For me, the need is reading lips, and the pandemic has made this something I can’t afford to be self-conscious about anymore. I make my living running retreats, guest speaking, and…

--

--

jennifer pastiloff
Forge
Writer for

Best-selling author of On Being Human. Writer, public speaker, retreat leader, mom.