Who We’ll Be After This

I’m Going to Shake Your Hand Way Too Hard

Manners have been transformed forever

Drew Magary
Forge
Published in
3 min readJun 23, 2020

--

Photo illustration, source: Still Life Photographer Wolfgang Ludwig/Moment/Getty Images

I have a dog who almost never leaves his crate. Dogs are den animals by nature, which means they require a space of their own, where no one else is allowed to tread. I didn’t know this before we adopted Carter, and thus I didn’t know that welcoming him into our house and giving him free rein of the main floor would kick up his biologically mandated agoraphobia. Outside of his crate, there is too much space and too much noise and too many things around for him to feel safe. And thus, he retreats to his den, sometimes for 14 hours at a time.

I am my dog now. Mostly confined to home during this extended coronavirus season, I have cultivated a healthy fear of the outside world. When I go to the grocery store, I sweat bullets. When I see strangers out on the street, I worry they might get too close to me. Sometimes I worry some aggro virus truther will deliberately try to shake my hand, and then I imagine myself telling that guy to fuck off and die.

I don’t know which elements of my social graces will revert to form the instant my governor tells me it’s safe to go to a restaurant again, and which elements will remain hogtied by my fear of becoming an unwitting infectious agent. I don’t know what…

--

--

Drew Magary
Forge
Writer for

Columnist at GEN. Co-founder, Defector. Author of Point B.