How to Use the Eisenhower Matrix in Every Area of Your Life

A system for prioritizing what matters

Amardeep Parmar
Forge

--

Photo: Dougal Waters/Getty Images

Over the past year and a half, I’ve heard people say they don’t feel like they are working from home, but living at work. It’s hard to deal with all the competing interests in our lives: work, relationships, family, friends, relaxation, and exercise.

There’s one tool I’ve found effective in navigating this issue: the Eisenhower Matrix. Originally created by President Dwight Eisenhower, the graphic helps you prioritize tasks based on urgency. While most people use it for work, I’ve expanded it to include everything I do in a day.

How it works: Get a piece of paper and divide it into four quadrants. Label the sections like this:

Graphic by the author

Now think about the tasks you have swirling about in your head and write them down on the sheet. In our context, “urgent” means it needs to be done today. These are your non-negotiables. For instance, a friend of mine goes for a walk with his wife at 6 p.m. no matter what. One of my urgent tasks is calling my family.

--

--

Amardeep Parmar
Forge
Writer for

Founder of The BAE HQ @amardeepbae + Host of Entrepreneur's Handbook ☆ I help the ambitious develop deep self awareness ☆ https://antiburnout.mindfuldriven.com