How to Talk About Your Weaknesses in a Job Interview

Sharing your vulnerabilities with future employers is scary, but it’s worth learning to do well

LeAnne Lagasse
Forge

--

Photo: Chee Siong Teh / EyeEm / Getty Images

If you’re anything like me, you’ve got memories of cringeworthy moments in your work history that still make you want to crawl under a rock and hide. One of those memories that replays over and over in my mind happened during a job interview when I was fresh out of graduate school.

The position would have allowed me to teach, train, and travel. I really wanted it. I was interviewed by a panel of six people who already worked on the team. They asked tough questions, but I was prepared. I communicated well, and I felt great about how it went.

Then, in an unexpected moment near the end of the conversation, one of the interviewers asked: “Would you consider yourself to be a creative person?”

I panicked. He had figured me out. I was an imposter. As I tried to devise a plan to avoid discussing one of my biggest areas of insecurity, my mind was spinning: They want a creative person?? The job didn’t seem like it required a creative person. But they wouldn’t have asked me this if they didn’t need a creative person, right?

Over the next few painful moments, I tried to convince both the panel and myself that…

--

--

LeAnne Lagasse
Forge
Writer for

Workplace Culture Strategist & Consultant | Co-Owner of ROI Talent Development | Former COMS Prof @ Texas Tech University | leanne@roitalentdev.com