How to Keep Going When You Don’t Know What’s Next

The future can be scary, but there are ways to deal with that fear

Darius Foroux
Forge
Published in
3 min readAug 15, 2019

--

Photo: Hero Images/Getty Images

WeWe often hear about the power of day one, and are told that getting started is the key to success. But really, the hardest and most vital thing is to keep going.

Anyone can declare themselves a writer, singer, designer, illustrator, and many have real talent. But only a dedicated few can stick with it for months, years, decades. Plenty of people have great ideas and entrepreneurial spirit. But almost half of startups don’t exist after five years.

A reader of my blog recently emailed me: “I want to create something for others,” the person wrote. “I started with a tiny step. It was easy at first. But after that I felt like I lacked inspiration. How do you keep going even if you don’t know what’s next?”

It’s an essential question. Not knowing what’s next is a fundamental condition of human life. Here’s what I do to tackle that challenge.

Focus on today

Much of our anxiety comes from uncertainty about the future. “What will happen tomorrow or in a year from now?” It can be scary. I can tell you that the world won’t blow up tomorrow, but if you’re in the wrong state of mind, you won’t listen to a word I say.

--

--

Darius Foroux
Forge
Writer for

Get a free excerpt of my new book, The Stoic Path to Wealth (Porfolio / Penguin), here: members.dariusforoux.com/stoic-path-excerpt