How to Feel Normal When the World Says You’re Too Big

There are concrete ways to help your brain normalize your body (and pretty much everyone else’s)

Virgie Tovar
Forge

--

Photo: Caroline Tompkins/Refinery29 for Getty Images

I’I’ve been told to avoid association with other fat people my whole life, out of fear, I guess, that the proximity might draw (extra) attention to the terrible fact of my size.

So spending a weekend with a group of exclusively big people at my first fat-activism conference, in Oakland in 2010, was a life-changing experience. We ate, talked, went to workshops, and floated in an enormous pool together. As the weekend progressed, however, something curious happened. Why is she here? I’d think, a little judgmentally, eyeing an attendee. Does she know she’s not fat?

But a few weeks after I returned to San Francisco (a city with the lowest average body weight for women in the country), I met up with one of the women I’d judged as “not fat” in Oakland — and I barely recognized her. In the conference space I’d assumed she was about a size 10, but as the train doors opened and I spotted her across the street, I realized she too was a size 18 or 20. Like me, she was the kind of fat that gets noted with alarmist, death-adjacent adjectives on medical charts. I felt a flash of guilt for my judgment, and even more, I wondered what was up with my brain. How…

--

--

Virgie Tovar
Forge
Writer for

Virgie Tovar is an author, activist and one of the nation’s leading experts and lecturers on weight-based discrimination and body image.