Quarantine Date Night!

8 tips for turning a normal evening under quarantine into a (kind of) romantic escape

Drew Magary
Forge

--

Photo: Fotosearch/Getty Images

QQuarantine: It’s getting monotonous, isn’t it? I know it is for me. Every week now lasts 36 years. If I gotta keep this up much longer, I’m gonna eat my own brain. HOWEVER, there is a way to break up the dreariness and spice things up a solid… oh, call it 0.5%. I’m talking, of course, about DATE NIGHT.

My wife and I have been married long enough that the term “date night” usually serves as loose code for an appointment to have sex. But not this time! The recent date night we had was all about the date itself and not about the end result. This was our chance to ESCAPE.

The challenge is using your imagination, along with whatever physical materials you have on hand, to make your home feel like it’s NOT home, to try and make the atmosphere constricting you right now feel and look and sound different. In my mind, making a dinner date with my wife might be enough to conquer that challenge. Maybe only a few feet away, but away nonetheless.

All I needed was a modicum of effort and a plan.

Find a date

They have to be living with you presently. Could be your spouse. Could be your roommate. Could be your dog. Could be an old Teddy Ruxpin…

--

--

Drew Magary
Forge
Writer for

Columnist at GEN. Co-founder, Defector. Author of Point B.