How Sharing Your Professional Rejections Can Spark Joy

Try to collect as many of them as possible. Really.

Sarah Fielding
Forge

--

Photo: Nicolas McComber / Getty Images

WWhen I didn’t get a job I thought I was a shoo-in for, I didn’t call a friend to vent my frustration. I didn’t ask for a pep talk. In fact, I told exactly no one what had happened, instead falling into a private tailspin of doubt: I really thought I’d be chosen? How mortifying. Keeping my rejection a secret seemed like the best way to protect myself from further humiliation.

In hindsight, though, I wasn’t protecting my feelings so much as deepening the emotional wound. I was letting someone else’s decision determine my sense of self-worth. But I don’t entirely blame myself for thinking this way: Amid a sea of chirpy “personal news” tweets and Facebook announcements about “officially accepted” offers, it’s easy to conclude that only our professional successes are worth sharing. After all, potential job recruiters, future co-workers, exes, and the girl who was mean to you in high school are all watching and judging. You don’t want any of those people to see your failures.

Being rejected more also means you’re putting yourself out there and working hard to achieve your professional goals.

--

--

Sarah Fielding
Forge
Writer for

Sarah Fielding is a freelance writer based in New York City. She covers a range of topics with a focus on lifestyle content.