For Seth Godin, Creativity Starts With an Assertion

A conversation with bestselling author Seth Godin on his new book ‘The Practice: Shipping Creative Work’

Kelli María Korducki
Forge

--

Seth Godin. Photo: Darius Bashar and Archangel

Seth Godin’s new book, The Practice, is all about the creative alchemy that translates an idea into work that matters. First and foremost in that process, Godin argues, is making an assertion. Forge spoke with the bestselling author and Medium blogger about how to make your assertions count.

Forge: You write that “assertions are the foundation of the design and creation process.” Can you start by explaining how you define assertions?

Seth Godin: An assertion is a test. It’s not a hustle. The internet has unleashed this era of hustle. I don’t approve of hustle. I think it’s a trap and a mistake. And it’s selfish.

A hustle is when we close-talk, use social pressure, try to use some sort of external tool to get someone to say yes to something. When we think about doing creative work, a lot of people say, “Well, you have a lot of hustle.” I’m going in the opposite direction. And I begin with an assertion.

An assertion is a theory about why something works. “I assert that the world is ready for a singer-songwriter.” “I assert that if I took the hinges off this door and put them the other…

--

--

Kelli María Korducki
Forge
Writer for

Writer, editor. This is where I post about ideas, strategies, and the joys of making an NYC-viable living as a self-employed creative.