The New Self-Help

When the World Is on Fire, Write

A novel protects what a missile can’t

Alexander Chee
Forge
Published in
4 min readAug 31, 2020

--

This story is part of The New Self-Help: 21 Books for a Better You in the 21st Century.

The first weekend of the war in Iraq, I wrote my writing students an email.

I had felt a sudden, intense protectiveness of them. I didn’t want my students to go into the draft, rumored then to be a possibility. I wanted to lead them to another world, one where people value writing and art more than war. But I knew then, and I know now, that the only thing that matters is to make that world here. There is no other world.

I told them that art endures past governments, countries, and rulers. That art is not weakness but strength. I asked them to disregard the cultural war against the arts that has lasted most of their lives, the movement to discredit the arts and culture in American public life as being decorative interruptions of more serious affairs, unworthy of funding or even of teachers. I told them how a novel protects what a missile can’t.

That email was a beginning. It was the moment I turned my back on the idea that teaching writing means only teaching how to make sentences or stories. I needed to teach writing students to hold on — to themselves, to what matters to them, to the…

--

--

Alexander Chee
Forge
Writer for

Author of the novels THE QUEEN OF THE NIGHT and EDINBURGH, and the essay collection HOW TO WRITE AN AUTOBIOGRAPHICAL NOVEL.