Does Taking a Call at the Playground Make Me a Horrible Parent?

Time management expert Laura Vanderkam deconstructs a common form of parental guilt

Laura Vanderkam
Forge

--

Illustration: Michael Rubin

Dear Laura:

I took my kids (ages six and eight) to the playground the other afternoon. While we were there, my phone rang. One of my clients had a big mess on her hands and asked for my help sorting it out. We chatted for about 30 minutes. Then I found my kids and we walked home. On the way, they started telling me about a game they’d invented with some other children, and I realized I hadn’t seen any of it. Should I feel guilty? Am I a horrible parent?

— Mom on her iPhone

Dear Mom on her iPhone:

Guilt can sometimes serve a useful function. Humans are social creatures, so if you hurt a member of your tribe, you feel badly until you make amends. This allows the tribe to heal rifts and stay together, despite the human tendency to annoy and disappoint those who love us.

But key to the utility of this emotion is that someone must have been hurt. And I’m scratching my head to figure out who was hurt in the scenario you describe.

Your kids had a fun time at the park. They invented their own games and interacted with other children, all without mom…

--

--

Laura Vanderkam
Forge
Writer for

Laura Vanderkam is the author of several time management books including Off the Clock and 168 Hours. She blogs at LauraVanderkam.com.