Dads, Take Your Damn Paternity Leave

It’s the best thing men can do to blunt a fundamental inequality at work

John Peabody
Forge

--

Credit: SolStock/E+/Getty

Before my son was born, friends and co-workers asked whether I planned on taking paternity leave. I answered yes, every single day of it.

Amazingly, this seemed to be a radical answer. “Good for you!” was the standard response from other dads. But “good for you” in the way you say it when someone tells you they’re about to carry out an insane dream: “I’m moving to Tallahassee to open the world’s first Care Bear museum.” Good for you!

According to one study of dads in the United States, seven in 10 who took parental leave were out of work for 10 days or less. And even in countries where paternity leave is mandated, a large portion of dads don’t take it, according to a report by Promundo, an international nonprofit focused on engaging men and boys in promoting gender equality.

There are the “my work needs me” dads and the “I could never take care of my kid all day” dads.

Why don’t new dads take their paternity leave? Not all dads can, of course. Paternity leave is not a given in the United States. (Neither is paid parental leave for mothers.) Many parents aren’t able to take unpaid time off. But some…

--

--

John Peabody
Forge
Writer for

Creative strategist at The Atlantic. Freelance writer and photographer. Publishes the Hand & Eye. https://thehandandeye.substack.com/