Being Comfortable with Silence Is a Superpower

The fascinating science of silence and why it’s healthier to embrace it than fight it

Michele DeMarco, PhD
Forge

--

Photo: Artur Debat/Getty Images

I used to think he was ignoring me, or else that he just didn’t hear me, so I would repeat myself.

This “he” is my boyfriend, and almost without fail, any question I ask is met with prolonged silence. Early in our relationship, when this silent scenario played out, each second that passed absent a response would make my heart speed up and my patience level drop with a dramatic thud.

“Hello! I’m talking to you!” I would want to yell. “Bueller, why aren’t you answering?!” And then a flood of possibilities would sweep over me, each one more foreboding than the next.

Agitation can be contagious. So, when the silence became too excruciating, I’d blurt out something like, “Did you hear what I said?” And then he’d respond with equal agitation — like more silence (completely infuriating) or a curt “blurt” of his own.

Over time, I realized that my boyfriend’s silence wasn’t him dodging or dismissing my questions. It was simply him processing what I was saying, so that he could respond in a mindful and effective way.

The constant need for sound

--

--

Michele DeMarco, PhD
Forge
Writer for

Award-winning writer, therapist, clinical ethicist, and researcher specializing in moral injury. I talk about the stuff many won’t. micheledemarco.com