5 Things You Can Do Right Now to Slash Stress

It’s time to stop stressing about your stress level and take action

Robert Roy Britt
Forge
Published in
7 min readNov 25, 2020

--

Photo: Westend61/Getty Images

For months now I’ve been stressing and complaining a lot over… stress. Deadlines to meet, people to serve, negative tweets I can’t not read, all the political noise and the Covid fears… and, you know, the politics of Covid fears. I know I’m not alone, and I recognize that a lot of you have it way worse than me. But who hasn’t felt some of the telltale symptoms of stress lately, the overwhelming sense of dread, emotional numbness, or utter exhaustion under the weight of it all?

I’m so stressed that I forgot I wrote about the science of stress and some common and uncommon stressbusters back in April. I found that article while searching the topic in researching this article, and it includes what I consider, frankly, to be some really hard things like “laugh a little” and “think positively.” Good advice, me, but… hard to follow, sometimes.

The thing is, we all know the most obvious, helpful, and doable things we should or could do to temper our anxiety. We just don’t do them. Sure, some of the stressors are out of our hands (or, more accurately, dropped into our laps): kids at home learning remotely, sick selves or dying loved ones, unpaid bills, Zoom calls, so, so, so many Zoom calls.

--

--

Robert Roy Britt
Forge
Writer for

Editor of Wise & Well on Medium + the Writer's Guide at writersguide.substack.com. Author of Make Sleep Your Superpower: amazon.com/dp/B0BJBYFQCB