88 Ways to Not Freak the F*ck Out During Isolation

Because we’re in for a journey, y’all

Ashley Fairbanks
Forge

--

Credit: Ashley Fairbanks

TThere are about a gazillion articles on the internet right now listing facts, statistics, and recommendations regarding the threat we are facing with COVID-19. I’m glad those exist, but what I couldn’t find was one that simply told me how to not freak the fuck out.

So I wrote one. Who am I? Not the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention or the World Health Organization (though I urge everyone to follow their websites for the latest updates). I am a 33-year-old woman currently living alone in San Antonio, Texas — 1,000 miles away from my partner, pets, and lifelong network of family and friends in Minneapolis, Minnesota. I’m asthmatic, have a suppressed immune system, and chronic migraines. Things have been rough.

I wanted to channel my nervous energy into something that can help others, so I compiled a big list of ways to prepare, stay calm, and do the best you can do during these weeks of self-distancing. I looked to online resources, surveyed friends on Twitter, and drew from my own experience working at home as a freelancer. I hope some of these tips help you in the weeks and months ahead. Note: Please abide by your local restrictions, first and foremost.

First, the basics

--

--

Ashley Fairbanks
Forge
Writer for

She/Her/Hers. Anishinaabe. Artist. Organizer. Wonk. @ziibiing on the socials.